children…I have a sauce for that

Posted: November 7, 2011 in writery things
Tags: , ,

I have been asked by a fellow Toastmaster to fill in for as Table Topic Master because she can’t make our meeting. I told her no problem. Unfortunately that was before I realized the theme for the meeting was “Kids say the darnedest things.” Um, yeah.

The Table Topic Master has to have at least 5 to 10 questions to ask the other Toastmasters for think-on-your-feet speeches. And I don’t have a problem with that. I do, however, have a problem with children. I am NOT a children person. I prefer they stay away from me. Unless they’re small babies. That is a whole different thing altogether. I LOVE babies! And the smaller the better. I can hold a baby almost indefinitely. And I love that new baby smell. ooooooo

But once they start moving around, um, not so much.

I am mother to two children (now grown) and grandmother to 5.5 grandchildren. Do I love them? Oh, very much so. Try to come between me and mine and see if you make it out alive. Yeah, like that I am.

But I see my grandchildren (a.k.a. the heathens) when I want to and not a lot. I am not one of these grandparents who spend every waking moment thinking grand kids. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, it’s just not me.

So, for the meeting I think I’m going to come up with other ideas that have nothing to do with children. But I do have a nice sauce that goes well with children, the other other white meat.

Hey, it’s for a book I’m writing, yeah, that’s it, research. That’s why I have the recipe. Honest! *ahem*

In other news, no, chapter three sits there staring at me, daring me to try and make it not crap.*sigh* But I will, I gotta. And I need to check the art galleries so I can do another piece for the column. I am busy. Yes, busy busy!

Read ya later!

Leave a Reply

