Letting Go

Posted: January 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

“You won’t believe what came in the mail today,” he said when I came through the front door.

I laid my briefcase and purse on the table by the door. Throwing my car keys on top, I looked at him and waited.

A black lab puppy came running in from the living room and ran into my feet. Falling on its butt it rolled over and barked. I looked down at the puppy, who was trying to get back on its feet, and then to my husband.

“I don’t suppose it has anything to do with the dog, does it?” I asked.

He was grinning from ear to ear. The smile went all the way up to his sweet brown eyes, lighting them with that special light that only he had. I’ve never met anyone who could smile like Mac.

The puppy, meanwhile, was chewing on the toe of my high heel oblivious to either of us. I reached down and picked it up. Wiggling in my arms the puppy tried to lick my face. It wasn’t easy holding onto a 16 pound wriggling mound of black fur that was determined to give my face a thorough lick. The smell of puppy breath filled my nostrils.

Mac reached over and rescued me from the pup and walked down the hall into the kitchen. After taking my shoes off, I followed him into the room.

“So, who sent the puppy? And how does one mail a dog anyway,” I asked?

Mac put the puppy down by its water that began immediately playing in it, splashing water all around the bowl.

“It came by messenger from Marty who sent it with this note,” he said handing me a piece of paper.

Marty was our son at Harvard. He was in his second year.

“Mom, I know you said that after Lucky you would never get another cat as long as you lived. I know how much you miss him and how lonely you’ve been so I’ve sent you Charming, not as a replacement for Lucky, but as a reminder that he is in a good place and waiting for you. Charming needs a mom like I will always need you. You are the best mom ever! Love you, always, Marty.”

Tears were streaming down my face by the time I finished the note. I reached down and picked up the now sleeping puppy, who had wrapped itself around my feet. It opened one eye and looked at me and closed them again. Sighing the puppy snuggled a little closer to me, snug in my arms as I held it like a baby. The same way I used to hold my Lucky. I looked up at Mac and smiled, tears still streaming down my face.

It was time to let Lucky go. He was gone, but would never be forgotten. There was someone else who needed me now.

 

Leave a Reply

