new short coming right up

Posted: February 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

I met with some nano writers and took up the challenge of writing a 5000 word short about a serial killer who likes to fish. Okay, let me back up a bit first.

In my indy nano group there is a short story week where you write a short story of 5000 words in a week. The reason behind this is…………….uh…………………uh…………….um, I don’t know why someone would do that, actually, Especially if they’re in the middle of writing a novel. Insanity? Writery?

Now the fishing part is a funny story actually. During the meeting today I sat with five other writers and we were all talking. Well, I was mostly¬†listening until the glow in the dark condom bit came up. No, I’m not going to go into it because that’s a whole different story for a different day. But we talked about fishing and waders and erotica and condoms and fishing hats and a whole bunch of other things.

For this short story week we are using the theme ‘liberty’ so I got an idea real quick, but it wouldn’t work. I didn’t know which way to take it. In the forum I decided to change it to a serial killer. Then I was challenged to add fishing. So now I have a serial killer who likes to fish and the theme of the story has something to do about liberty.

I think I may need therapy. If I can think up the things I just did about this character then something has to be wrong with me, right? Or is it like my doctor (not shrink) said and it’s only my imagination?

I seriously do not see myself as a killer or any kind of way dangerous. No, really, I don’t. Not to say I wouldn’t hurt anyone, but only in the defense of myself would I really try to fu…um, hurt someone. If you got in my face and yelled I would yell back and then walk away. That would be it. No hitting, knifing, or shooting.

If you hit me, well, that would be a whole different thing.

Now to research fly fishing. No, I don’t need to research serial killers and no I am not going to explain why. Leave me alone!

I will let you know how it goes.

Read ya later!

Leave a Reply

