camp nanowri

Posted: March 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’ve decided to give this camp thing a go and see if I can stick with it this time. Last time was pure hell because of work. I’m going to try anyway. I know, I know, that’s why I said TRY dammit. You guys have no faith in me. sheesh

Right now I’m outlining the story and it has been amazing how many ideas are coming to me. I’ve already moved two chapters to the end because, well, because that’s where they make the most sense.

Now I’m looking for more of my notes of the short story that this story is the history of by a couple of hundred years. I haven’t decided how many hundreds yet. I do have to take into condsideration of the children. Their lives and their children’s lives will eventually lead to the short story. Something like that.

I will probably post posts about it from time to time. Not the small stuff, but the bigger stuff. Like large word counts in one day and things like that. Or a major breakthrough.

Which brings to mind writers block. It came up in conversation at work today. I was talking about this romantic comedy series I was watching and how it’s about this writer. And how he’d get writers block and do some really weird stuff to get out of it. It’s funny.

I haven’t suffered from the block in a while. I absolutely hate it when I do, though, and will do almost anything to get out of it. It’s really a bad thing. But I’ve been lucky so far lately. Tons of ideas and stories going on. My problem is consistency and laziness.

Writing is work. Yes, yes I know I love to write, but when you have to make yourself sit and write it becomes work. Remember the hissy fits and all that whining? Yeah, that? It’s terrible and I don’t always win. In fact I almost always lose. I must be firmer and demand that my butt stick to the chair. I’m just going to have to get really tough with myself.

Now I just scared myself. Oh, you do not know the horrors of a really pissed off redhead who refuses to cooperate with you. Things getting thrown, furniture knocked over, animals fleeing for their lives…yeah it is scary.

But what must be done must be done. Uh, if you don’t hear from me in a week or two would you call someone and have them check to make sure I’m still alive. I mean, there are knives in the house. *gulp

Okay, back to outline I go and I will try and keep you posted on my word count and all that when it gets started.

Read ya later!

Leave a Reply

