the plan

Posted: October 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’ve come up with a plan. Yeah, it surprises me, too, but here it is.

First phase: finish the first draft by Christmas 2013. Considering I already have over 20,000 words written this should not be a problem.

I figured that I write an average of 500 words per day. For a 50,000 word novel that would be 100 days, or three months and ten days. Uh, give or take a few days here and there. Yeah, I know it’s a lot of numbers, and yeah, I know numbers aren’t my thing, but I have to count words to get an idea of what is going on.

Shut up! It makes sense in my head.

Second phase: start first revision January 1, 2014, and finish by March 30, 2014. I can add to the chapters, or delete the icky parts, during this phase. I tend to not write enough words so this will be the time to add to my chapters if I need to. Yeah, I think I’ll have to.

Third phase: start second revision April 1, 2014, and finish by June 30,2014. I can find the plot holes, they will be huge I’m sure, and all the inconsistencies I missed during the first revisions. I can also decide whether or not to burn it, too. I will also sign up for the Midwest Writers Workshop during this time.

Fourth phase: begin July 1, 2014, find a brave human to read it and have them write notes on what they think it needs. Like if the giant eagles can fly them to one place why can’t they fly them the rest of the way. No, I don’t have giant flying eagles, but I watched the first Hobbit movie and when the dwarves were rescued by the giant eagles why didn’t they take them all the way to the mountain instead of leaving them miles away? Yeah, things like that!

I will also, at this stage, be working on my first five pages for a manuscript evaluation, and, if I feel brave enough, sign up for an agent pitch session. I will have to wait to see if there will be any agents for my genre and then do some research on the agents and their companies.

I want to polish the novel (I can still do this even though my reader may not be finished) until it shines. I can also be working on a query letter/email while I’m at it.

As you can see I do have a plan and a lot of work ahead of me, but it’s all good. At least I have a goal and a plan to reach my goal. Right?

Stop laughing. It makes sense in my head.

Read ya later!

 

Leave a Reply

