what’s with this ‘no, you can’t leave for work until you write this down’ crap

Posted: February 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

This morning I’m almost ready to leave, getting my shoes on and grabbing my coat, when my muse decides to give me an idea for a story. What? Now? I have to go to work or I’m going to be behind schedule/late. I don’t have time to sit down and write anything let alone a new concept for a story line.

But nope, I had to stop and run to the office to fill out an entire page (and it took every bit of my power to keep it to one page) of a legal pad jotting down ideas, writing notes in the margin about the notes I just wrote down to expand on the idea.

There was no ‘okay it can wait until you get to work’ or ‘okay it can wait until you get home after work’. It was ‘SIT YOUR BUTT DOWN AND WRITE THIS DOWN NOW!’

Yeah, I do have an idea for a new story, but that’s not the point. The point? I have to explain the point? *sigh*

The point is, my dear friend(s) is that as the writer I should be telling the muse what to do, not the other way around. If not then why am I even bothering to write at all? Right?

Here’s an example….

Fernando…I know I’ve mentioned him before…so I start plotting out his story. No problem…until I start to write his story. He turns to me and looks at me as if to say “Really? Do you really want to write it this way?”

What?

Who’s in charge here, me or the story? I gotta know because if I’m not in charge of this whole writing thing then why am I bothering? Right? I mean, if it’s not my way it should be no way. I am the writer! I am the one doing the writing! So it follows that the story should be going the way I say it should be going. Right? Makes sense, the writer should be calling the shots.

BUT THAT IS NOT WHAT IS GOING ON HERE!!!!! *disgusted face*

I feel like some two bit no talent writer just doing with what I’m told to write like I can’t think for myself. It’s humiliating! I have a wonderful imagination. I can’t tell you how many stories I’ve written over the years where I was the one calling the shots and the characters doing exactly what I wrote. Not once did they give me a look. Not once did they take over and rewrite my plot lines. Not once!

But now it seems there’s a new order and I am not the one at the helm. Why am I not the one driving this boat? When did the characters and the story take over?

It’s getting to a point where I’m beginning to be afraid of even writing a grocery list. No, really!

What? Am I going to write the story anyway? Yes, I’m going to write the stories as the characters and the stories dictate them to me. BUT I’m not going to be happy about it. Nope, not one bit!

Now, if you will excuse me, I have to take down more notes on the new story before I continue Fernando’s story. And I’m thinking of staging a coup to get back control but the details are fuzzy. If I do stage a coup and get back control I’ll let you know. However, if I fail I may need bail money. Just saying, just in case!

Read ya later!

Leave a Reply

