the plan? yeah, there has been a change in the plan

Posted: March 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

I had planned on going to the Midwest Writers Workshop this coming July, but on thinking about it for awhile, and crunching the numbers I have decided not to got. Oh, it’s a wonderful workshop and I had fun the last time I was there, but I don’t want to spend the money. No, it’s not expensive, not really. I can handle the workshop fees with no problem. In fact, I can handle the hotel charges, dog boarding, and food costs (not to mention the books and stuff I would buy at the workshop) with no problem.

The real problem is that I just don’t want to spend the money or use a credit card. I just paid off all but one of my cards and I don’t want to use them at this point in time. At least not that amount of money. Maybe next year…I’ll see where I am then.

Instead I decided to join a writing group at the Indiana Writers Center and signed up for two writing classes there, too. A lot cheaper that way.

The critique group will help me get focused on my writing and the classes will motivate me.

Have I lost my writing mojo? No, I don’t think so…it’s all still there in my head. I just have a very big lazy bone.

I call it a lazy bone because that’s what it is. I’m lazy! How such a hard working person like me can be so lazy at the same time beats me, but I sure do it. All the time! Geez!

But already I’m back on my novel. Well, at least looking at it. To submit to the group for critique it has to be in submission formant. Double spaced, Time 12 font, blah, blah, and blah.

Which is fine, don’t think I have a problem with it. Well, that is until I go to the third chapter and found the Grand Canyon of holes. *laugh* Yeah, a big hole. And I remember it.

See, what happened was this. They were going to search some tunnels trying to find the bad guys, and I knew they wouldn’t find anyone. Yeah, a lot of clues but no bodies. So I got bored and dropped it leaving the gaping monster of a hole in the chapter.

So, I can’t finish the formatting until I fill in the hole because it would throw the whole formatting thing off. I’m not even really finished with the first draft. No, I have the rest of it in my head but the big lazy bone is in my way.

Now you see why I wanted a group. Something to get me motivated to walk around the lazy bone and work.

As for getting my manuscript looked at? Oh, I can send the first or second revision to an agent, or an editor, and let them tell me what they think.

And I have other works bubbling away. I can’t seem to stay focused on just one thing. I’m not sure if it’s boredom or just me being me. You should see me in stores. You do not want to go shopping with me because I’ll wander off because I’m bored/saw something shiny and then you’d have to hunt me down. *shrugs*

Hey, at least I know how I am and fess up to my foibles. And I can work with the wandering off, uh, sometimes. Just takes a bit of work.

Read ya later!

 

Leave a Reply

