Jumping Through The Hoops

Posted: June 8, 2017 in Uncategorized

Life is like a three ring circus and to get along you have to jump through the hoops. If you don’t jump through the hoops life can be more difficult than it has to be. Of course you can continue to be the rebel and break every rule you find, but not without complications. Society, and life, demands that you follow the rules or suffer the consequences, and those consequences could be uncomfortable.

As much as I dislike rules, I have come to the conclusion that rules are important. The rebel in me tells me that I don’t need no stinking rules, but that’s not correct. I do need rules. We all need rules. And following rules means you jump through the hoops.

Rules help keep the chaos at a manageable level. Without rules imagine what life would be like? Think about it. Burglaries and murders would rise dramatically, more so than now. Mayhems and mayhers would increase to levels unknown since the middle ages. “Human sacrifices, dogs and cats living together, mass hysteria” —Ghostbusters

It’s almost unbearable to even think about.

Let me give you an example of jumping through the hoops. The day is sunny with blue skies and the road straight with not a soul in sight. You’re driving along with the radio blaring away to one of your favorite songs. The wind is blowing through your hair, and the smell of sunshine fills your nostrils. You’re in no particular hurry. The road is clear and you’re not paying attention to the speed limit even though you took note of it as you passed it just a second ago.

But wait, what’s that in the rear view mirror? Damn, blue and red lights, the police, with sirens blaring, right on your butt. You pull over and wait for the officer to tell you what was wrong. She tells you that you were doing 45 in a 30, 15 over the limit. You say what’s the big deal officer? There’s no one on the road. No one got hurt. I was just driving and enjoying the nice day. What a beautiful day, isn’t it officer?

She’s not buying it. You get a ticket because you broke the law. Moan and complain all you want you still broke the law. You did not jump through the hoop. We all have to jump through the hoop, I don’t care who you think you are you’re going to jump through some hoops.

Rich people have to jump through hoops. Poor people have to jump through hoops. Middle class people have to jump through hoops. They may be different hoops, but they still have to be jumped through. And those hoops don’t care what your skin color is, your religion, or what sport you like to watch on the weekends. Hoops are hoops and if you want to keep your life as stress free as possible I suggest you jump through them.

Follow the laws, the rules, and whatever guidelines you come across. They were all created for a reason. Okay, some of them may be stupid. A lot of them are stupid, but if you don’t jump through the hoops then those mayhems could come visiting when you least expect it.

Now if you’re one of those who like to live on the edge, who continue to push that envelope as far as possible then don’t jump. I, however, have found out that the older I get the more I like the peace of not having to keep looking in my rearview mirror for flashing blue and red lights. Have I been known to break the speed limits? Yes, I have. Have I been known to break other *ahem* rules? Yes, I have. I tend to consider all rules “more what you’d call “guidelines” than actual rules”–Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl. What I should do, or not do, compared to what “they” want me to do, or not do.

When I was a lot younger I didn’t jump as much. The older, and maybe the wiser, I get the more I consider the consequences of not jumping through the hoops of life and weigh the pros and cons of whether the hoop needs to be jumped through. And now that I’m older I don’t jump so much as walk through them lifting one leg and then the other while hanging onto the hoop. I’m always afraid that if I jump I may fall and break something that I may need later.

Bend them, break them, and ignore the rules. Don’t jump through the hoops. Live your life on the edge in defiance. Let me know how that works out for you.

 

Leave a Reply

