Bittersweet

Posted: July 24, 2017 in Uncategorized

I’m back home again, the conference ended Saturday night. I left Sunday morning to go back to my every day life. Ah, such a bittersweet feeling!

Getting to sleep in my own bed is always something I look forward to, and this time was no exception. Even if I was kinda sad the workshop was over and I had to leave my tribe behind. Sure they’re only an email or text away, but to not be in the same room at the same time to at least acknowledge each other that yeah, to the non writers in our lives we are the weird ones but to us, the writery tribe, we are writers and not weirdoes. I still couldn’t wait to get home to my home and to my own bed.

But then again, if I have to be weird to be a writer then so be it. It’s not like I’m not used to being the weird one, anyway.

The Midwest Writers Workshop was amazing! Like a my newest buddy said, “there’s a lot of ‘meat’ to this workshop”. Yes there was a lot of ‘meat’. They fed us good, the faculty of the Midwest Writers Workshop. I put the link there so you could find the website quick because you are going to want to check it out if you write, want to know how to write, or even think you might want to write. Because it’s great!

And I’m going back next year with a finished manuscript and to pitch to an agent, um, maybe. That’s going to take a lot of loin girding.

But I have a lot of notes from the conference, a lot of links to look up writery stuff, and since I’m not a sucky writer after all, a heck of a lot of writing to do.

Oh, and I even have some new ideas that I had to pull off the interstate, on the way home,  to jot down before I forgot. Nope, writers are not crazy at all. Pulling over real quick on an interstate is completely normal. For a writer, anyway.

I have lists and notes and literature of stuff and even a few old, and new, writer friends I can talk to about this thing we call writing.

Now to get busy and write on a regular basis like all good writers who write good do on a regular basis…yeah, that.

Read ya later!

Leave a Reply

